WORLD BOOK ONLINE

Treaty of Waitangi STUDENT Worksheet

Did you know that the Treaty of Waitangi takes its name from the place in the Bay of Islands where it was first signed? Learn more about the Treaty of Waitangi on World Book Online.

Go to <u>www.worldbookonline.com</u> Click

Click on Student

Type Treaty of Waitangi in the Search box and click Search

Click on the Waitangi, Treaty of article.

Scroll down to section *Early Maori-European contact* and answer the question below.

1. Who did the British Government select to serve as consul to New Zealand?

Scroll down to section *Signing of treaty* and answer the question below.

2. When was the Treaty of Waitangi signed?

Scroll down to section *Confusion and criticism* and answer the questions below.

3. How many Maori chiefs signed the English version of the Treaty?

4. What is the difference between the English version and the Maori version of the Treaty?

Scroll down to section The Waitangi Tribunal and answer the question below.

5. In which year was the Waitangi Tribunal established?

Scroll down to section *Waitangi Day* and answer the question below.

6. In which year did the Waitangi Day Act set February 6 as Waitangi Day?

Learn More!

- Click here to read more about the Treaty of Waitangi.
 https://www.worldbookonline.com/student/article?id=ar389523#h13
- Click here to see a picture of the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi. <u>https://www.worldbookonline.com/student/media?id=pc322931</u>
- Click here to learn more about Waitangi Day.
 https://www.worldbookonline.com/student/article?id=ar755187
- Click here to learn more about Tamati Waka Nene.
 https://www.worldbookonline.com/student/article?id=ar589630

ANSWER KEY:

- 1. William Hobson
- 2. February 6, 1840
- 3. 39
- 4. The English version stated that the chiefs gave up their sovereignty but that they kept possession of their lands and gained protection and all the rights of British subjects. The Maori version divided the powers of authority into two: *kawanatanga* (governorship), which went to the British, and *rangatiratanga* (chieftainship).
- 5. 1975
- 6. 1960